University of Calgary is a medium to large research-intensive public university located in Calgary, Alberta, Canada. The university consists of approximately 24,000 5500 graduate students and undergraduate, totaling approximately 29,500 students.Initially the Calgary branch of the University of Alberta in the first half of the century, the University of Calgary separated from the University of Alberta, and was officially founded in 1966. The University of Calgary, or “U of C” currently consists of 16 teachers including a university professors, law school and medical school.In 2008 the University of Calgary will open a veterinary teach bring the total number of faculty to 17. The campus is located in the quadrant northwest of Calgary.

University of Calgary

The University of Calgary is a research-intensive university education in Canada because it is the seventh most Canada Research Chairs. It is a member of G13 (Group of Thirteen), Association of Commonwealth Universities, International Association of Universities and Association of Universities and universities of Canada. The University of Calgary sponsored research income of $ 282 million, with total revenues exceeding $ 800 million. Being located in Calgary, with the highest concentration of engineers in Canada and Geoscientists, both the Faculty of Science, Department of Geosciences and the Faculty of Technology hold close ties to the petroleum industry and Geoscience.


The University of Calgary is a non-denominational established in 1966, when an existing university, the Calgary branch of the University of Alberta gained autonomy as a university. [7] The Calgary branch of the University of Alberta was founded in 1945. The University of Calgary has developed a range of programs of undergraduate and graduate.University of Alberta, a provincial university and public simply created in 1906 was modeled on the American State University, with an emphasis on extension work and applied research.

The government was modeled on the Provincial University of Toronto act of 1906 which established a bicameral system of university government consisting of a senate (faculty), responsible for academic policy, and a Board of Governors (citizens) exercising exclusive control of financial policy and having formal authority in all other subjects. The president, appointed by the Board, should provide a link between the two bodies and execute the institutional conduct.

In the previous part of this century, professional education has increased beyond the traditional fields of theology, law and medicine. Graduate training based on the German-inspired American model of specialized course work and completion of a thesis research was presented.The policy of university education initiated in the 60 answered population pressure and the belief that higher education was a key to social justice and economic productivity for individuals and for society.The University of Calgary launched its program in architecture in 1971.The University of Calgary has developed a range of programs for undergraduate and graduate.


The University of Calgary is host to 16 teachers. Several faculty identified most of the university are Schulich School of Technology, Haskayne School of Business in Scurfield Hall Kinesiology, a medical school (MD), a law school ( LLB ), and in 2008, The Canada West second veterinary school.The faculty are:

-Faculty of Communication and Culture
-Faculty of Education
-Faculty of Environmental Design
-Faculty of Fine Arts
-Faculty of Graduate Studies
-Haskayne School of Business
-Faculty of Humanities
-Faculty of Kinesiology
-Faculty of Law
-Faculty of Medicine
-Faculty of Nursing
-Schulich School of Technology
-Faculty of Science
-Faculty of Social Sciences
-Faculty of Social Work
-Faculty of Veterinary Medicine


Residential buildings on campus can accommodate up to 1800 students, located in eight buildings, all named after mountains in the Canadian Rockies. Both “” traditional buildings on campus are called Rundle Hall and Kananaskis Hall and were built in the early 60’s when the university relocated to its present campus. Five more new buildings called Glacier, Olympus, Norquay, Brewster and Castle Halls were built just before 1988 Winter Olympics to act as athletes’ Olympic Village during the games. However, each of these buildings is considerably smaller than traditional buildings, being only two or three stories tall, and housing between 10 to 30 students on each floor.

The newer building, cascading Hall, is considerably different from the previous five buildings in the design, being five stories, making it the third largest building of residence, and size of its floors can accommodate many more students than the five buildings preceding. Apart from this difference, all six newer buildings are designed in the model apartments in which there is a hallway on each floor with sets of rooms that can accommodate up to four people each. This is unlike the two traditional buildings that are designed with three separate hallways on each floor, with each hall having only rooms that can accommodate two people each, with a common area in the center of the building on each floor.

A new building called International House is currently under construction accommodate 200 students, instructors and participants additional international conference. This building is part of the capital of $ 1.5 billion dollar university, and expects to receive its first residents in September 2008. With the completion of this new building the number of beds on campus will increase to 2000.